Recipients of the USPA Lifetime Achievement Award

Joe Crane
Awarded in 1971 (posthumously)

"For unselfish and dedicated service as founder, president, and chairman of the board of the National Parachute Jumpers and Riggers and its successor, the Parachute Club of America."

Lew Sanborn, D-1
Awarded in 1972

"For originating safe and reliable parachute equipment, for pioneering work in freefall photography, and for many other contributions to the sport and USPA."

Steve Snyder, D-5
Awarded in 1973

"For pioneering contributions through the years to the saving of lives and the improvement of parachute equipment."

United States Army Parachute Team
Awarded in 1974

"Generous and dedicated sportsmen, celebrated competitors, respected leaders who since 1961 have introduced parachuting at its best to worldwide millions and have brought honor and distinction to the sport."

Lowell Bachman
Awarded in 1975

"For service to the United States Parachute Association and all competitors as judge and chief judge at countless national championships, and as a dedicated leader in the development of judging excellence."

Russ Gunby
Awarded in 1977

"A founding spirit who saw the future when others doubted. As author, executive director, and P.C.A. president, he gave countless hours to build the early framework of our sport."

Len Potts
Awarded in 1978

"In recognition of personal sacrifice and countless contributions to skydiving and this organization spanning our decades as a sport. His past is our present."

Dan Poynter
Awarded in 1980

"Prolific author, distinguished instructor, preeminent parachutist, whose service to skydiving spans more than 20 active years."

Norman E. Heaton
Awarded in 1981

"In eleven years of devoted service as executive director, he contributed substantially and uniquely to USPA's greatest growth."

James F. "Curt" Curtis
Awarded in 1983

"A total contributor to our sport and USPA: competitive champion, headquarters executive, drop zone owner, safety officer, director, board chairman. (For some reason, his service as USPA president was not recorded.)"

Chuck MacCrone
Awarded in 1984

"In recognition of outstanding contributions to sport parachuting and as a testament to his unparalleled service as president, FAI-IPC."

Jack Bergman
Awarded in 1986 (posthumously)

"USPA Director 1967-1984, Treasurer 1967-1984, National Championships Meet Director 1975-1984. With selfless devotion he gave a quarter century to skydiving and USPA."

Carl Boenish
Awarded in 1987 (posthumously)

"A prolific and talented skydiver whose lifetime of pioneering freefall photography brought unforgettable images and better understanding to fellow jumpers and the public."

J. Scott Hamilton
Awarded in 1989

"For service to USPA and the skydiving world 1967-1979, a Collegiate League director, Safety and Training Committee chairman, and USPA president."

Ken Coleman
Awarded in 1990 (posthumously)

"World and national champion who created the accelerated freefall program."

Loy Brydon, D-12
Awarded in 1993

"In recognition of major contributions to parachuting in the development of equipment, freefall techniques and competition-an original role model of the total skydiver."

William H. Ottley, D-298
Awarded in 1994

"In recognition of more than three decades of dedicated service to skydiving and USPA, as board member, vice president and executive director."

Dick Barber, C-2375
Awarded in 1995

"For dedicated service to all competitors as a judge at countless U.S. Nationals and world championships, and for the inspiration provided to judges."

Clint Vincent
Awarded in 1997

Selfless service for the betterment of all aspects of skydiving and in support of all skydivers."

Patrick M. Moorehead
Awarded in 1998

"For unselfish dedication to the United States Parachute Association since 1969 as an ambassador extraordinaire while traveling the world as a member of the board of directors and as a professional skydiving performer."

Sherry Schrimsher
Awarded in 2002

"For their selfless dedication to USPA's competition and instructional programs and as leaders of the community while serving on USPA's board of directors."

Jerry Schrimsher
Awarded in 2002 (posthumously)

"For their selfless dedication to USPA's competition and instructional programs and as leaders of the community while serving on USPA's board of directors."

Al Krueger
Awarded in 2003

"For almost 40 years of dedication to the sport and especially USPA as a board member, U.S. Nationals meet director, world skydiving champion, and inspirational visionary."

Gene Paul Thacker
Awarded in 2004

"For over 40 years of contributions to USPA and the sport of skydiving, particularly in the Style & Accuracy community as an athlete, coach, leader, inspiration, volunteer, conscience and catalyst."

Jacques-Andre Istel
Awarded in 2007

"In recognition of his pioneering spirit as he promoted skydiving in America, United States Parachute Teams, and collegiate parachuting competition while serving the United States Parachute Association and its predecessors."

Chris Needels
Awarded in 2010

"For almost a half-century of total commitment to USPA as a board member, officer, executive director, and skydiving museum trustee, providing unparalleled leadership, vision and lasting stability."

Paul Sitter
Awarded in 2011

"For nearly three decades of service to the U.S. Parachute Association and its members, particularily in the area of safety and training by helping to educate and improve safety for skydivers everywhere."

King Morton
Awarded in 2012

"For improving the sport, enhancing collegiate skydiving and raising the stature of USPA as a competitor, jumpmaster and instructor and by serving 20 years on the USPA Board as Southern Conference Director. "

Larry K. Bagley
Awarded in 2013

"For selfless dedication and commitment to the core values of the United States Parachute Association and the skydiving community as advocate, leader and wise counsel for nearly half a century."

B.J Worth
Awarded in 2014

"For truly dedicated leadership over more than three decades, serving as USPA National Director, Chairman of the Board and IPC delegate; for promoting the sport through world records and demonstration jumps in front of millions."