Recipients of the USPA Gold Medal for Meritorious Service

Lorrie Young
Awarded in 1997

"In recognition of outstanding achievement as a National and International Judge in all skydiving disciplines. Her unwavering dedication to fairness and integrity brought honor, as well as equality, to the judging profession."

Jimmy Godwin
Awarded in 1999

"For outstanding and meritorious service to the skydiving community and for sharing his knowledge for over three decades as a Drop Zone owner, rigger examiner, pilot, instructor, and Conference Director."

Jerry Bird
Awarded in 1999

"For outstanding and meritorious service to the skydiving community for over thirty years, inspiring jumpers into becoming competitors and for unselfish training and organizing in the field of relative work."

Sandra Williams
Awarded in 2000

"For your unparalleled encouragement to women's participation in skydiving and helping set the benchmark for achievement in our sport."

Dave DeWolf
Awarded in 2001

"In recognition of your decades of service to the sport as a rigging school operator, seminar host and mentor."

Ted Strong
Awarded in 2002

"For almost a half-century of contribution to the skydiving community as a competitor, a sponsor of numerous US parachute teams, and, most notably, his unique innovation in parachute equipment design including the tandem skydiving system and its importance to the growth of the sport in general and USPA in particular."

Bill Booth
Awarded in 2002

"For over three decades of quality parachute equipment design and manufacture, especially his personal contribution to the concept and promotion of the tandem skydiving system."

Tom Morrison
Awarded in 2003

"In recognition of more than 40 years as an ambassador for the sport of skydiving worldwide and for serving as an inspiration to skydivers of all ages."

Fredrick W. Bill Wenger
Awarded in 2003

"For over 30 years of leadership and support of the skydiving competition community as a board member, judge, team coach, and national and world champion."

Michael J. McGowan
Awarded in 2004

"For promoting our sport through professional aerial photography as a freefall cameraman, and for his innovation in developing freefall photography techniques."

Tom Sanders
Awarded in 2005

"For over a quarter of a century of promoting skydiving in general and USPA in particular as a professional aerial photographer, contributing often to the USPA calendar and Parachutist magazine."

James (Jim) Wallace
Awarded in 2006

"In recognition of almost 40 years dedicated to the skydiving community, and especially USPA, with boundless energy and enthusiasm as an instructor, demonstration jumper, U.S. Team member, and movie stuntman."

Norman Kent
Awarded in 2006

"For nearly 30 years of contributions to skydiving and the USPA. Norman’s work has put the highest artistic touch on images of our sport that have been seen by millions."

Michael Truffer
Awarded in 2006

"For service to the USPA membership as national director and for his vision and guidance in establishing the U.S. Parachute Team Trust Fund, which has and will continue to support those teams for many years."

Judy Celaya
Awarded in 2007

"For almost three decades of dedicated contributions to the worldwide skydiving community as a national and international competition judge, judge course director, and ambassador of the sport."

Chris Gay
Awarded in 2007

"For innovations that have redefined the discipline of canopy formation. Chris Gay made the USA the dominant force in international competitions, improved safety and was instrumental in the 100-way world record organization."

Mike Lewis
Awarded in 2007

"For being one of CRW's original pioneers. Mike Lewis has been an integral part of every aspect of the discipline's development including safety, equipment, training, competition and organizing the 100-way world record."

Bill Wood
Awarded in 2011

"For acting as a true worldwide ambassador of skydiving as both a demonstration jumper and leader of the Parachutists Over Phorty Society, and for earning an international reputation as a traveling good-vibes skydiver."

Jeff Steinkamp
Awarded in 2011

"For nearly four decades of service to the competition community as a nationally rated judge and to the accuracy community in particular as an innovator of accuracy events and scoring systems."

Perry Stevens
Awarded in 2012

"For his reserve-static-line invention, which has saved many skydivers with quick, reliable openings."

M.T. "Pat" Works
Awarded in 2012

"For over 50-years of contribution as a teacher, innovator, author, competitor - and for encouraging and inspiring countless skydivers to advance their skills and find joy in the blue sky."

Roger Ponce de Leon
Awarded in 2013

"For forty-six years, Roger “Ponce” has advanced skydiving as a leader and participant on numerous large formation world records, and promoted skydiving as a coach and load organizer throughout the world."

Carol Clay
Awarded in 2014

"For more than 45 years of skydiving and inspiring jumpers around the world as a competitor, record holder and organizer: for mentoring new skydivers and serving as a role model to women entering the sport."

Kate Cooper-Jensen
Awarded in 2014

"For advancing big-way formation skydiving throughout the U.S. and abroad as an organizer and multiple world-record holder. Over the decades, Kate has mentored countless skydivers and been a role model to women skydivers around the world."

Alicia Moorehead
Awarded in 2014

"For volunteering for 28 years for the Parachutist Over Phorty Society, serving as USA TopPOP #9, World TopPOP #2 and POPS records administrator: for spreading goodwill around the globe and encouraging others to skydive in their later years."